Saturday, 1 January 2011

Paul McCartney - Tug Of War Demos

Publisher: Red Square
Reference: RS 03
Date: 2004

01. Ballroom Dancing
02. Take It Away
03. Keep Under Cover
04. Average Person
05. Dress Me Up As A Robber
06. Dress Me Up As A Robber
07. Dress Me Up As A Robber
08. The Pound Is Sinking
09. Sweetest Little Show
10. Ebony And Ivory
11. Hear Me Lover
12. Wanderlust
13. Stop, You Don't Know Where She Came From
14. The Unbelievable Experience
15. We All Stand Together
16. Boil Crisis
17. Give Us A Chord Roy
18. Seems Like Old Times
19. Ballroom Dancing

Now that he had helped Ringo attempt to resuscitate his recording career,
it was time for Paul to figure out the next move of his own. With the
(apparent) help of Denny Laine on some songs, he laid down several demos
for a projected new LP project that would reunite him with George Martin.
An August 1980 compilation of demos was prepared for George consisting of
old and new material for consideration for the upcoming LP project.

The running order of the tape was as follow:
- Seems Like Old limes
- Ballroom Dancing
- Take It Away
- Turkey And Peacock (perhaps an early version of Peacocks)
- It's As Simple As That (Tremolo Cello)
- Robber Riff
- We All Stand Together
- Stiff Tracks (most likely "Boil Crisis" and "Give Us A Chord, Roy" which
  were much like the tunes being released by Stiff Records at the time)
- Keep Under Cover
- Average Person
- The Unbelievable Experience
- Stop, You Don't Know Where She Came From
- Wanderlust
- Ebony And Ivory

While some of the songs ("Ballroom Dancing", "Take It Away") were particularly
strong, some of the tunes Paul submitted ("The Unbelievable Experience", "Boil
Crisis") were bad enough to force George to tell Paul to scrap them and write
more; this he did. In 1995, excerpts of several tracks were aired on various
episodes of "Oobu Joobu", and although they were in superb quality, all of
the airings were incomplete.

Download from (all links are interchangeable)
Filesonic: FileServe: HotFile: Unibytes:
Part 1
Part 2
Part 3
Part 4
Part 1
Part 2
Part 3
Part 4
Part 1
Part 2
Part 3
Part 4
Part 1
Part 2
Part 3
Part 4


  1. Links from both sharers are deleted :(

  2. Re-uploaded to Filesonic and Fileserve, plus added links from Hotfile and Unibytes